CIS Department Wiki
Contribute is a web editing piece of software that allows you to edit in a "what you see, is what you get" mode. It is the recommended method for editing sites that have not been moved into the university's Content Management System (CMS) called Sitecore. If you are unsure if your site has been moved, check and see if your site design looks like the SPU home page. If not, then you can use Contribute to edit the pages. Make sure you have contacted University Communications at firstname.lastname@example.org to obtain permissions to edit your site.
Select SFTP in the drop down list. In the SFTP server textbox, enter "web-prod.spu.edu". Enter your SPU Username and password. Click Next.
After you have clicked Done, contribute will show you the main page for your department. Below is a picture of what the toolbar looks like that you'll want to familiarize yourself with. It sits just above the page you're working on. You can use the "Back" and "Forward" buttons just like your favorite web browser. Links on the page itself work like they do in a web browser as well.
Navigate to the page you want to edit by using links or typing in the address into the address bar. In the toolbar above, you'll see an "Edit Page" button. Once clicked, Contribute will download the page for you and make it ready for editing. While you are in edit mode, the toolbar changes to look like this:
Here, you can edit the page text. Do not edit the font face/type, the font size, and formatting - this is typically controlled by a cascading style sheet. In the middle of the graphic above, you'll see three buttons for adding links to your page, adding images, and adding tables. Get to know these functions as you will use them frequently. You'll notice that the Edit Page button changed to a Publish button - it is the one in the top left of the graphic above.
While in edit mode, you are given a "lock" on the page giving you exclusive access until you are finished editing and check the file back in by clicking the "Publish", "Save for Later", or "Cancel" buttons.
Saving and Closing
When you are finished with all of your edits, you can click on the Publish button to post the changes to the web or the Save for Later button to save your changes so you can work on them later. Do not use the Send for Review button unless it is part of your business processes.
If you forget to either click Publish or Save for Later before exiting, Contribute will maintain the "lock" you have on the file and not allow others to edit it. This will also cause the web server to no longer be able to access the file and there will be an infinite hold on the file. To ensure that all files and pages stay active and accessible by others please remember to click Publish or Save for Later before closing Contribute.